Cool Down!

Monday was Aaron’s *REAL* birthday.  We’ve been celebrating it all month though, so it was pretty low-key on his actual day.  We ended up going over to the Seattle Children’s Museum and met up with one of my friends from college who had also recently moved to Seattle.

September 19th also happens to be “National Talk Like a Pirate Day,” so the museum was having a special where kiddos who were dressed as pirates got in for free.  Aaron really liked dressing up like a pirate and had his “ARGH” down pat.
   
One imaginative play area of the museum featured a mexican restaurant.  Aaron loved this area (it was a close second behind the fire truck) and was excited to be a “helper” and serve people from their stock of about 20 plastic tacos.

I went up and ordered 3 tacos.  They must have been special tacos because he charged me $50 for them!  What really cracked me up, however, was when he loaded the tacos into a little basket and then stuck them in the “Fridge,” telling me, “They’re too hot. They have to cool down.”  I had to consciously keep myself from laughing out loud because I do that all the time to him!  Case in point…tonight’s dinner:

Aaron and I made calzones.  Of all places, I had the best calzone ever on the Seattle Ferry a while ago.  I was starving…and on the way to take my nursing board exam when I realized that I hadn’t eaten anything all day.  (Nerves, stress, etc.)  So, I went to the restaurant on the ferry and the only vegetarian option they had was this “Pesto Calzone.”  I love pesto, so I went for it. It was amazing…and super simple.  It just had pesto, mozzarella cheese, and sun-dried tomatoes.

For my re-creation, I made a whole wheat pizza dough and then filled it with pesto, mozzarella, sun-dried tomatoes, and a handful of baby spinach. Aaron just had marinara sauce with cheese.
     

Bake at 425 for 15-20 minutes…and voila!

I went to get a shot like that of Aaron’s and his oozed out into a puddle of magma!

Hence, why it ended up in the freezer as I told him, “It’s too hot…it has to cool down.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

