All Labels Aside


You can’t say I didn’t warn you.

Skinny Bitch is a book that I started hearing about around the blogosphere about a year ago.  It’s supposed to be an in-your-face book with a strong vegan agenda.

I’m not skinny…and I’m not a bitch…but out of sheer curiosity, I decided to pick it up at the library just to see what all the hype was about. It was actually written in 2005 by two women who really have no credible medical background.  They’ve essentially read TONS of books and articles about diet, nutrition, food politics, and the treatment of animals in slaughterhouses.  All of their sources are sited in the back of the book – and it’s an extensive bibliography.

The book really irritated me in the fact that they have a TON of great information, but present it in a way that is really dumbed-down, peppered with F-bombs and other curse words…and regularly call their readers “bitches.”  It’s like their target audience was the Britney Spears and Paris Hilton crowd.  This makes it a very quick and easy read though! I got through it in two days.

I hate cussing and felt like it was very unnecessary and out-of-place in this book…but I was able to roll my eyes and skim over the offensive words.  It really had a lot of good information that mostly left me really ticked off.  A lot of the stuff in the book wasn’t new information to me – it just re-ignited my anger at what a disaster our food supply has become.

Still, I don’t really like being labeled and don’t think I’m ready to take on the “vegan” title.  By claiming to be vegan, it feels like you’re suddenly under scrutiny from everyone who knows you.  While I do try to make healthy choices and tend to avoid most animal products, I’m far from perfect. I would feel like such a fraud – waiting for the vegan police to jump from behind the bushes as soon as I sneak a piece of cheese.

An issue that I do have with veganism is that they use artificial stuff to mimic the “real thing” in many recipes.  Tofutti’s “Better than Cream Cheese” is a huge one that you see used a lot in vegan recipes

…but the main ingredient is hydrogenated oil!  Wouldn’t it be much healthier to just eat real cream cheese than an artificial hydrogenated oil spread that has a slight cream cheese flavor.  I did just find out that they have a “non-hydrogenated” variety…but I’ve found it’s really hard to track down.

For now, I’m just choosing to do my best at making choices that are healthy for me and my family.  Hopefully my hubby and I can get to a healthy weight in the process. 🙂

2 thoughts on “All Labels Aside

  1. I HATE labels.. I don’t want to be any particular thing either except for the healthiest me I can be. Making good REAL choices not artificial pretty packaged ones!! I am so sick of all that garbage!! Long story short.. LOVE this post!!! I didn’t read the book, like you I an not skinny or a bitch so.. pretty much didn’t fall into their target audience… boo..

    keep’em comin!!

    • Thanks for reading, Carrie! 🙂 Yup, for now, we just have to be vigilant about reading labels and being sure we’re aware of what we’re putting in our bodies…there’s a LOT of junk out there.

Leave a Reply

