On the Downhill – Detoxin’ Day #5

Today started amazingly when I stepped on my scale and saw the lowest number I’ve seen in ten years…if not longer.  I did a little happy dance.

For breakfast, I made some really yummy green juice with lots of spinach, a handful of green grapes, a pear, and a few stalks of celery.

I was skeptical – as it was totally just based on me grabbing whatever I could out of the fridge.  I really enjoyed it!

I’ve been trying to be more conscious about my water intake.  I know I haven’t been drinking enough – especially since I’m on a “detox,” I should be drinking even more.  So, today I was much better.  Plus I had a big glass of iced Yerba Mate tea.

For lunch, I tried to doll-up the kitchari.  I did 1/2 of an avocado and then “filled” it with the kitchari and garnished it with the fresh coriander chutney.

I did the Barre3 video today and my legs were SHAKING!  I’m really loving that video though.  It’s a great workout.  Then, later in the afternoon, Aaron and I took a long walk – well, Aaron scooted on his scooter and I walked. 🙂

For dinner I had some more kitchari and a plum.  I got Aaron to bed and am now drinking a big mug of my detox tea while I’m writing.  I’ve referred to the detox tea a few times in the past few days.  Yoga Journal has some that they included in their recipes for the detox, but something about ginger and tumeric in water just didn’t sound appealing to me…so, I bought some Triple Leaf Detox tea at the store and I’ve been drinking that every day.

I think it’s pretty obvious that I have only LOOSELY followed the Yoga Journal plan.  Like I mentioned in my detox “preface” post, I’m really not into all the eastern religion stuff that Yoga Journal likes to use. …and, you’ll definitely lose me if you start getting too “weird.”  The guy that designed this detox definitely weirded me out on the first day.  (They email videos each day.)  But, it was day three, I think, where I was seriously creeped out by this video about a special breathing exercise.  I was like, “Whatever,” to that – and haven’t really been back.

I feel like I got the gist and I’ve done enough research on my own to know what is cleansing for the body…and so far, I’m definitely happy with the results.  My entire motivator for this was to get a kickstart to some weight loss and get over a plateau. Honestly, how would you be able to quantify true detoxification results?  I feel like my own version of this has worked really well for me and is helping me achieve the results I was after. 🙂  Day #5 is over…it’s all downhill from here! 🙂

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “On the Downhill – Detoxin’ Day #5

  1. That’s awsome! great job. I have to say i am jelous of your juicer. I have wanted one for years ever since I saw the first infomercial. lol maybe for christmas this year. I have the dieters tea of that brand and the super slimming tea of that brand. Not a bad taste. Anyway keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

