Awesome Sauce – Detoxin’ Day #2

When we were down in Portland, Mike and I would regularly go to Hot Lips for lunch.  They’re a local pizza place that, while they have your typical cheese and pepperoni, they always have weird flavors like butternut squash and goat cheese.  One day, Mike told me, “Ohmygosh, I found the best combo!  They have this awesome sauce at Hot Lips that I put on my cheese pizza.  It’s amazing!”  The next time I hit up Hot Lips with Mike, I was curious to try this amazing sauce. I laughed at him when I saw that it was Frank’s.  As in ghetto Tabasco. “The secret ingredient in the original Buffalo wings.”

Nonetheless, Mike had a new affinity for the vinegarey hot sauce.  And I must admit, it was pretty good on the cheese pizza.  So, I had to laugh yesterday when I called Mike to check in on him and see how he was handling the detox diet.  He said, “I”m doing fine…but I’m putting some Frank’s on that stuff tonight for dinner!”  (As part of the plan, we’re eating the same thing for lunch and dinner.) We did…and it was great.  If only Frank’s knew they had a whole other market they could tap into!

Today has really been a breeze! I feel great – and I don’t know if it’s just in my head due to seeing a three-pound drop on the scale this morning, but I feel thinner!  Less bloated, maybe? I know it’s impossible to lose three pounds of anything “real” in one day, so it must be water.

I drank a detox tea for breakfast…and we were out of apples, so I didn’t make any juice this morning.  My only option was carrot juice and it didn’t seem too appealing.  I had an early lunch around 11 and ate a bowl of the kitchari…with some Frank’s.  Then Aaron and I headed to the store for some much needed re-stocking of our fruits and veggies.

While out, I grabbed an Odwalla Superfood juice to drink…but Aaron informed me, “Mom, you have to share,” as he chugged most of it.  So, at the next store, I grabbed a Synergy Kombucha.

I KNEW I wouldn’t have to share that one. Heh. 😉 Mango is typically my go-to flavor.  The strawberry is good, too.  Honestly, from the Synergy brand, there hasn’t been one I don’t like.  So, today I was feeling adventurous and tried a new flavor – Gingerberry.  It’s a combo of ginger with blueberry, which sounded weird…but, I’m tellin’ you.  It was delicious!  I had to cut myself off at half a bottle so I could save some for tomorrow.  (They’re not cheap, so I try to spread ’em out.)

My sweet, sweet husband…since we were so low on food today, he didn’t have anything to take for a snack.  Then, he had planned on going out with a colleague for lunch, so he told me this morning he was probably going to cheat on the detox.  However, I was so proud of him when he told me that he had stuck with it, the best he could, by going to a Pho restaurant and got the veggie pho – essentially veggies and rice noodles in broth.  Not a crazy jump off the wagon at all!!  But, he called when he was getting on the ferry to come home and informed me that he was STARVING!

So, for dinner, I bulked up the kitchari with some roasted red, yellow, and orange bell peppers that I needed to use up and we had a side of asparagus.

After Mike had seconds, that tapped out my first batch that I’d made.  I doubled the recipe and it made it through two lunches and two dinners for two people.  I have another batch simmering now and it’s making my house smell good! 🙂

I took a picture of the mung beans after I put them in a bowl to soak, just so you know what I was talking about yesterday.  I found them in the bulk section of a local natural food store.

A little surprise was in today’s email from the Yoga Journal detox people.  We’re supposed to do a massage with sesame oil!  They call it abhyanga…but, I call it awesome. 🙂 It’s supposed to be done in the morning, and has the general benefits of any massage:

  • Increased circulation, especially to nerve endings
  • Toning of the muscles and the whole physiology
  • Calming for the nerves
  • Lubrication of the joints
  • Increased mental alertness
  • Improved elimination of impurities from the body
  • Softer, smoother skin
  • Increased levels of stamina through the day
  • Better, deeper sleep at night
    (Copied from this website)

But who has time to do a massage (and really enjoy it) in the morning?  So, I’m going to go let Mike in on this little piece of info NOW and see if he’ll reciprocate. 😉  …because what fun is it to just give YOURSELF a massage??

Leave a Reply

