Feeling Doughy?


I’ve been on a smoothie kick lately.  I ran out of all my greens though…and we’re leaving for vacation this weekend, so I didn’t want to buy any new stuff as I know it’d mostly go to waste.  So, I set out to find some new smoothies.

Kath over at Kath Eats Real Food has a recipe for what she’s dubbed, the Dough Boy Smoothie.  As a huge fan of anything doughy, that sounds right up my alley!  Kath puts the ingredients into the blender and then lets them sit overnight to let the oats and chia seeds absorb the milk and get all mushy.  Then, she blends it all into a thick, doughy smoothie. Yum!

When I created my version a couple days ago, I didn’t have time to let the mixture sit overnight first.  I compromised by dumping all my ingredients in the blender to sit before I took a shower and then actually blended it after I was done. That 10-15 minute window worked well…just a tip if you’re not one of those “plan ahead” types. 😉

Peanut Butter Banana Dough Boy Smoothie
Adapted from KERF’s Recipe

1/2 cup raw oats
1 cup almond milk
2 TBSP chia seeds
1 banana
Splash of Vanilla
2-3 TBSP Peanut Butter
Handful of Ice
Chocolate Sauce

Directions:
Put oats, almond milk, chia seeds, banana, and peanut butter in your blender’s pitcher. Let sit for 15 minutes to overnight…depending on how urgently you would like to drink this. 🙂

When you’re ready, add a handful of ice and blend.

Pour into a glass and drizzle with chocolate syrup – attempt to be pretty. 🙂

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Feeling Doughy?

  1. That looks tummy! I love on and banana smoothies.When I was on the Daniel fast it was breakfast almost everyday. Your smoothie looks better though.lol

    • I’ve been thinking about doing a Daniel fast. I’ve got about 15lbs I want to lose…and just need something like that to keep me “in line” for a little while. 🙂

  2. Oh Jennie…I think I just found my new favorite smoothie! Yum!! I can’t wait to try it out but to wait overnight might be hard for this dough girl!

Leave a Reply

