These are a few of my favorite things…


(Source)
I know you’re singing the song right now…because I am too! 🙂

I’ve received texts from time-to-time from friends, asking me about things I buy and items I’ve used in various recipes.  I thought I’d dedicate a post to some of my favorite items to have on hand.  This post is completely un-sponsored…these are just my honest opinions.

Beginning with produce, I pretty much always have bananas, a tub of baby spinach, carrots – baby for quick snacks and regular to use in recipes, and apples.  Here and there, I’ll pick up a bunch of kale…since I do like kale! 🙂

In my pantry, I always have old-fashioned oats.  I buy them bulk and just re-fill the little tub I’ve got.  Through the summer, I’ve been adding oats to smoothies and recently found some Dough-Boy smoothie recipes over at Kath Eats Real Food.  So, for the past two days, I’ve been making my own variation to make a peanut butter banana dough-boy. It’s delicious! (I’ll have to post a recipe soon.)

I tend to have a variety of grains.

Brown rice is definitely a staple…then, as seen in this picture, I also currently have quinoa, millet, and farro (it’s like a fat brown rice)…and yellow peas, not a grain, but they’re in the pile. 🙂

I am a big fan of Muir Glen canned tomatoes.  The fire roasted variety add a great flavor to whatever you’re cooking.

Muir Glen and Eden Organics are the only companies that do not line their cans with BPA. WIth research pointing to BPA causing prostate and breast cancer, behavioral changes, diabetes, obesity, and a slew of other issues, it’s something I’d like to avoid.  For more info, you can check out that link.

Peanut Butter!!

We typically get the fresh ground stuff at the store to use in sandwiches, but I also like to have some Adams on hand.  It’s smoother and works well for baking.

I love agave nectar.  It has a similar flavor to honey, but has a low glycemic index…so it doesn’t cause a spike in your blood sugar like other sweeteners and sugar can do.

I use it in my coffee, oatmeal, and in various recipes.

I was getting frustrated when recipes would call for fresh herbs.  I’d use a small amount in the recipe and then the remainder would go bad.  Then, one day, I came across these Gourmet Garden tubes. They’re essentially toothpaste-tubes filled with different herbs!       
I have used the ginger, basil, and cilantro.  They stay fresh much longer and they’re already prepared.  You just squeeze out the amount you want!  No washing/chopping…they’re very convenient.

Almond milk, almond milk, almond milk.  Oh, how I love almond milk!
Almond Breeze’s Unsweetened Vanilla is definitely my favorite.  I typically use it on cereal, in smoothies, or in recipes, so the subtle vanilla flavor has never bothered me.  I have tried several varieties and have found them either too thick or too sweet.  I always come back to Almond Breeze.

Cha-cha-cha-Chia!

Chia seeds are a great source of fiber and Omega-3’s.  I throw them in smoothies, on top of yogurt, in cereal, or make a cup of chia pudding.  They don’t have much of a taste by themselves, but when they’re mixed with liquid, they create a gel-like coating.  You have to be careful because they’ll totally get stuck in your teeth, but they’re a great way to get some awesome nutritional benefits! 🙂

What are some of your favorite foodie things??

2 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite things…

Leave a Reply

