Lazy Sunday

Yesterday was so much fun!
For various reasons, Mike’s Grandma gave me her ticket to Les Miserables that’s currently playing in Seattle.  So, I got to go with Aunt Amy! 🙂  (Thanks, Grandma!)

We really enjoyed the show and having the opportunity to hang out together.  It’s kind of weird that she’s Mike’s aunt because I really just think of her as a good friend. 🙂  We had some fun shopping looking at ridiculously expensive stuff that would be fun to buy if we had several more 0’s in our bank account balances.

I have drooled online over Christian Louboutins for a couple years…and they had them just sitting out there on display in the Seattle Nordstrom! I picked one up and half expected a big guy in a suit to clobber me to the ground.  I was like, “OHMYGOSH, I’m holding a Louboutin!!” I would be scared to death to wear those shoes!  I’m sure I’d break a heel in less than 5 minutes…and then, there goes $700!

Of all the stuff we looked at (Chanel sunglasses, Coach purses, Tiffany’s stuff…so fun!!) Lululemon had the most realistic stuff for ME. I would be MUCH more comfortable in some awesome yoga pants and super cute tops & sweaters.  I added a few items to my “once I start working” wishlist. 😉

After we hung out in Seattle for a while and met up with Mike & Aaron for dinner downtown, we came back to our house and stayed up late watching movies.  I made Mama Pea’s Double Chocolate/Single Chin Brownies for dessert. (Probably the coolest recipe name ever!!) They’re yummy!! You should definitely try them.

We have found a church that we really like and they have a 5pm service on Sunday evenings that we’ve been going to.  I LOVE being able to go to church at 5pm because we can sleep in and have a relaxed morning.  Amy spent the night at our place, so this morning I wanted to make a special breakfast.  I really enjoy being able to cook for people.

I had several peaches that were just about to become over ripe.  So, I decided to make a breakfast peach cobbler (i.e. more healthy and less desserty).  Since I also have a bunch of blueberries that Aaron and I picked earlier this week, I threw some of them in as well.  It ended up being really good…and, since I tweaked another basic recipe so much, I feel like I can claim this one as my own and share it with you!!

Breakfast Peach Cobbler
Serves 4-6, depending on how big your servings are. 🙂

About 2 lbs of peaches, chopped up (peel is optional) or you could use frozen
Optional: 1/2 cup berries of your choice (blueberries worked really well for me)
3 TBSP lemon juice
1/4 cup honey (I didn’t actually measure this…just do a generous drizzle all over)
2 TBSP corn starch mixed with 2 TBSP water
2 TBSP butter or margarine

1 cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup flaxmeal
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1/2 cup almond milk (or soy…or regular, depending on your preference)
1/4 cup agave nectar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees and spray a pie plate or 8×8 square pan with some cooking spray.

Put chopped peaches (and berries, if using) into pan. Pour lemon juice and cornstarch/water mixture over peaches and mix well. Generously drizzle honey over peaches and dot butter all over the top.

Now, make the topping!
Put the flour, oats, flaxmeal, baking powder, and spices in a large bowl.
Cut butter into little pieces and use a pastry blender to mix it into the dry ingredients until it is broken up into pea-sized bits and well incorporated into the dry ingredients.


Combine your milk with the agave nectar and then pour it into the dry ingredients/butter mixture.  Stir until combined and you’ll have a thick batter.

Drop spoonfuls of the batter onto the peaches.  You can smoosh it out a little bit, but it will spread while baking.  Don’t be too OCD about covering the fruit – it’s pretty to have some showing through. 🙂

Bake for about 30 minutes, until topping is golden brown.

This was so easy to throw together and tasted delicious!

One thought on “Lazy Sunday

  1. Thanks for sharing a very fun day! It is fun to “dream the dream” shopping at Tiffany’s and Nordstroms! Also, thanks for a great breakfast! We will have to do it again!

Leave a Reply

