My New Toy

I have been wanting a Keurig for quite some time, now.  I used to have a 12-cup coffee maker, but since I’m the only coffee drinker in the house, I’d always only make a couple cups – just covering the bottom of my coffee pot.  It seemed silly.

A friend loaned me her single-cup maker that used the Senseo pods and that did a great job holding me over…but I returned it to her when we moved.  So, for the past month, I’ve been getting by with Starbucks Via instant coffee.  (My hubby got two boxes in a “welcome basket” when he started his new job, so that got me started.)

My frugality kept me from just cashing out for the $150ish Keurig at this time, so I was prepared to wait until I started working and had it on my “wish list” (along with a Vita-Mix). I kept my feelers out on Craigslist though and kept looking for a Keurig.  Not just any Keurig though – I wanted the platinum model.  (I think I’ve mentioned before – I have Pottery Barn taste on a Target budget.)

Well, I just about peed my pants was thrilled to hop on Craigslist the other day and find a PLATINUM Keurig…for $75, and in my area! I emailed her and offered $50…and she took it!

Hello, Beautiful!

For my first box of the K-Cups, I chose Green Mountain Coffee’s Nantucket Blend.  I got it at Target because I also picked up the “My K Cup” that lets you use your own ground coffee.  They didn’t have a lot of options, but I’ve had a few cups of this type and have really liked it.

I haven’t tried the “My K Cup” yet…but the ease of the little K-Cups is SO nice!  You just pop it in the holder (they’re about twice the size of those little individual creamers).  Then, it pokes a hole in the top and bottom to let the water in and out.


You fill a water reservoir and then turn the machine on. It takes a minute to heat the water, and then tells you when it’s ready to brew.

This model lets you choose which size of coffee you want.  So, you push the button for cup, mug, or jug travel-size mug…and voila!
I LOVE IT!
For the longest time, I was a Coffee-Mate addict.  I loved many of the flavors, but hazelnut was pretty much my staple. Unfortunately, one day, I decided to look at the ingredients.
  • INGREDIENTS: WATER, SUGAR, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN AND/OR COTTONSEED OIL, AND LESS THAN 2% OF SODIUM CASEINATE (A MILK DERIVATIVE)**, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, DIPOTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, COLOR ADDED, CELLULOSE GEL, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, CELLULOSE GUM, CARRAGEENAN, DEXTROSE.
I have really tried to read the ingredients on things I put in my body.  I have pretty much completely gotten rid of anything with high fructose corn syrup or hydrogenated oils (aka trans fat).  From there, I try to avoid things that, essentially, I can’t pronounce or haven’t heard of before.
I do appreciate the fact that CoffeeMate has come out with a new “Natural Bliss” line of creamers – whose list of ingredients are much more “real.” I have used the Caramel flavor and really liked it.
  • INGREDIENTS: NONFAT MILK, HEAVY CREAM, SUGAR, NATURAL FLAVOR
When I’m at home, I always use Raw Agave Nectar to sweeten my coffee.  If I’m out somewhere, I’ll use plain sugar over any of the artificial sweeteners.
Since I haven’t been using much dairy, I’ve replaced creamer with vanilla almond milk or So Delicious brand’s Coconut Milk Hazelnut creamer.  This has become my favorite.
Along with my delicious cup of coffee this morning, I enjoyed a cup of granola with some vanilla almond milk.  I found this granola on sale at Safeway last week – Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Heaven.  It is heavenly!
I ate my way through a whole bag pretty quickly, so with this second bag, I’ve been limiting myself to a small cup. I have issues with portion control.  My trick for eating smaller portions has been to use smaller cups and salad plates instead of huge cereal bowls and dinner plates.  Even though I KNOW I’m just playing mind tricks with myself, it seems to work.
So, tell me…how do you like to doctor up your coffee?
…and, if you have a Keurig, what are you favorite K-cup flavors?
4 thoughts on “My New Toy

  1. SO JEALOUS!!! We totally want one but won’t drop the cheddar for it! AND I didn’t know they made hazelnut flavored coconut milk creamer!! I don’t like all the oils and stuff in mine either.. you are such a fabulous source of consumer info!! I am going to be checking craig’s list from now on! Even though I am sure Seattle has a much bigger/higher end selection then we do here in Mayberry! LOL

Leave a Reply

