Blocked.

…or depressed.  Either way, I haven’t felt like writing lately.

(Source)

The hubs and I have always used a Lego analogy regarding our personalities.  He’s not super social.  He can be perfectly content hanging out, playing guitar.  He says he’s like the little two-spot Lego piece.  He doesn’t need much to fill his  social “tank.”I, on the other hand, am like one of the big green Lego boards.

(Source)

I am very social and need a lot of interaction with people.  I am used to having several close friends nearby, along with numerous acquaintances that I see on a regular basis.  So, this move to Seattle has been a huge change for me.  I knew this would be an issue – but I wasn’t quite prepared for how hard it would hit me. It’s HARD to make friends as an adult.  You can’t exactly just walk up to someone at the grocery store and be like, “Will you be my friend?”

So, I’ve been really mopey lately.  For some reason, Aaron has been sleeping in until 9ish…so, I’ve been taking advantage of that and sleeping in as well.  I haven’t been working out…and I’ve been on a carb binge as I’ve been trying to entertain myself by baking.  Of course, my weight – which was at an all-time low (well, since my freshman year of college) is now creeping back up.

I love the “healthy living” blogs and that was my intention for my blog…but how can you have a “healthy living” blog if you’re overweight, eating like crap, and not exercising??

Well, yesterday, I decided to pull myself out of this funk and at least move forward…instead of sitting on my chubby butt.  I started the day with Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred DVD and followed it with a Crunch Fitness Yoga/Pilates combo DVD that was on my Netflix streaming.  I ate fairly good (we ended up having pizza for dinner…but I had lots of veggies on mine).  At the end of the day, I felt SO much better!  It’s amazing what changing your outlook and taking baby steps can do.

I really want to get back to running consistently…and so does Mike. We’ve discussed it and it’s hard (probably more so for me) with the munchkin.  He’s 55lbs and even when I had my BOB stroller (I sold it before we moved), that was like pushing 65ish lbs while trying to run.  Neither of us are “morning” people, but evenings don’t work for working-out because when Mike gets home from work, we do dinner…and then typically just want to hang out.

We decided to sort of FORCE the morning thing….with the plan to encourage one another.  This morning, Mike got up at 6 and went for a run while I got up, got ready, and made him a yogurt parfait for when he got home.  When he got back, I left.  Then, I just knew I had to be back within about 40 minutes so he could leave for work on time.

It worked great…we’ll see if we can be consistent with it.  I just know for my own health/well-being, I need to exercise regularly and eat better.

How do you fit a work-out  into your day?  (Especially if you stay home with kids…)

Leave a Reply

